How to Keep Your Writing Fresh & Exciting

 Picture 27

#1 Remember the reason you’re writing in the first place: A feeling of accomplishment?  Communicate to people? Personal gain?  One small step closer to your bigger passion?

#2 Have fun: Ask yourself, “What can I do to make the writing I am doing more enjoyable?” Try being even more creative with “vlogs”. These are short videos based on each of your “blog” writings. You can use an iPhone, Android or, of course a video camera.

#3 Re-Focus: I am a big believer in “not reinventing the wheel”. If you are frustrated with the approach you have been taking, try a new and fresh approach to your writings. Read other blogs, articles, books, etc.; you can be inspired, and become re-focused at the same time.

#4 Step-by-step: In order to not become overwhelmed by the larger task at hand, split tasks into smaller goals and celebrate each goal once you reach it. For example, if your goal is to write an entire novel, set a goal of writing one chapter at a time, or just writing for one hour at a time, and celebrate when you’ve done it. My wife is in the process of pulling together an eight-hour teaching, so she celebrates herself after each hour she finishes. She has become more motivated and inspired by breaking it up.

#5 Celebration: Once you’ve reached a goal, make sure you take time to reward yourself. I am big on celebrating. I write in my office or sometimes at my favorite local java house. When I arrive at the java house, I start writing for one hour, then I get myself something to drink, like a hot and tasty cappuccino. It’s valuable to recognize progress; you will enjoy the journey so much more!

Question of the day:

What steps help you in your writing? I (we) would love to hear your thoughts on what inspires you to write more.

About Ken Winton

Ken Winton is a transparent conversationalist; his inspiring teachings have motivated companies of people around the world into living their lives lighter. Ken is edgy, relatable, some times a goof, but always influential. Ken is an international speaker, author, musician and hosts his own radio show, podcasts and blogs and most of all, loves to go on walks with his wife Becky. When Ken is not on the road he frequents his favorite coffeehouse to sip on a cup of caffeine and chat with the locals. Ken resides in Chico California with his wife, three kids, two daughter-in-laws, one son-in-law and a whole mob of five glorious grand-kids. And, by the way each grandchild is his favorite.
This entry was posted in Writing Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How to Keep Your Writing Fresh & Exciting

  1. Myeka says:

    When I wrote my first novel, I isolated myself for months. After that I spent month studying, reading, and writing, putting everything into my idea folder. After about six months to a year, I isolate myself for another three months and begin writing. To reward myself, I go shopping.

    • Ken Winton says:

      Myeka,

      I can relate! My first book took two years to put to pen. It was quite a process of diligence, fun, excitement, writers block and frustration, but my skills increased and I found my enjoyment in communicating to people via writing!

      Keep writing, it sounds like you were created to write!

  2. Stella says:

    I like your step-by-step approach. Someone once told me something that I like to remind myself of: ‘yard by yard it’s very hard, but inch by inch, it’s a cinch!’

    • Ken Winton says:

      Stella,
      I have found the process of writing, just that, a “process”! When the process becomes part of the reward, then writing will become exciting, inch by inch!

  3. Diane Reid says:

    Hi Ken, this is very helpful. I dropped out of blogging for a while and this is nice to see a step by step way of getting back to it. Thanks, Diane

Leave a Reply

