Pain…Enemy or Friend?

Picture 35

I had just purchased a well-worn pickup truck. This truck was well experienced with many a road, but nonetheless, I sure appreciated having a pickup truck after years without one.

On the day before Christmas 2012, the temperature outside was so cold we actually had icicles forming in California. On this icy day, I drove my truck to a friend’s auto mechanic shop to have it checked over. My friend Doug was the only one in the shop since it was so close to Christmas. As Doug lifted up the sizable metal doors to the shop, he directed me to drive in where the temperature was slightly warmer.

After a few moments of chatting, Doug took my truck out for a test drive to check things over. As I stood in the somewhat warmer shop (trust me, it wasn’t that much warmer inside than outside), I positioned myself right next to a propane heater. As I stood alone in the shop, I didn’t know what temperature was emanating from the heater, but it was a cookin’!

Doug does not yet know who Jesus is to him, so I often pray for him. So, as I was about one foot from the heater I began to pray over Doug. About fifteen seconds into praying I could feel the intense heat on my pants legs, so as any half way intelligent person would do, I turned to the side. I was previously twelve inches from the heater, but as I continued to pray over Doug, I didn’t realize, I had moved closer to the heater.

About 10 seconds later, I detected something burning and immediately, I felt a razor sharp pain on my right leg. As I moved away from the heater, I looked down to find my pants on fire. I quickly started patting my pants with my hands. As I am patting my upper leg the flame is screaming down to the bottom of my leg.

After about ten seconds (which seems like an eternity when your pants are on fire) the flames were all out and I stood there in shock. I just knew I was going to wake up and this was all a bad dream. But it wasn’t, I looked at my left hand and three of my fingers were severely burned and my upper leg was boiling.

Right about that time, Doug returned from testing my car. I was still in shock when Doug got out of the truck and yelled out, “Ken what happened?”

IS PAIN YOUR FRIEND?

Webster’s Dictionary defines the word pain as: Mental, physical or emotional pain causing distress due to trauma or injury.

Pain lets us know when something is wrong or under distress. We can all relate to some level when it comes to physical pain. Whether we have a broken leg, back pain, an earache, or any other physical pain to our bodies, pain can be relentless and traumatic.

Pain can also manifest in our emotions. Some of us have learned how to avoid emotional pain or to vainly attempt to erase it. It is easier to stuff the pain than to deal with the hurt. The truth is, we can’t erase pain as if it were never there. Pain in our emotions is still designed to let us know something is not right. Pain really is our best friend. Listen to the description in Matthew 4:24 of emotional pain.

The news about Him (Jesus) spread throughout all Syria; and they brought to Him all who were ill, those suffering with various diseases and pains, demoniacs, epileptics, paralytics; and He healed them. (Matthew 4:24)

Do you see the word “epileptics”? We usually associate this word with someone having seizures and physical trauma. In this case the Greek word for “epileptics” is the word for “moonstruck”. This word means “One who suffers from emotional trauma, or one who is insane and believed to be put under a spell or be affected by the moon” This is where we get our word for Psyche.

In other words, Jesus came to heal those suffering from various diseases, pains, demoniacs and paralytics. But also, Jesus came to heal all those who were experiencing emotional pain.

So my friends, don’t attempt to hide your pain, whether it’s physical or emotional pain, but come to Jesus with it and watch Him heal you. He is the great psychologist of all eternity. He made you, therefore He understands you.

Jesus can make living life lighter, a reality for you, come to Him, He is closer than your breath.

QUESTION OF THE DAY

How have you come to Jesus with emotional pain? What has He done for you concerning your pain?

 

 

About Ken Winton

Ken Winton is a transparent conversationalist; his inspiring teachings have motivated companies of people around the world into living their lives lighter. Ken is edgy, relatable, some times a goof, but always influential. Ken is an international speaker, author, musician and hosts his own radio show, podcasts and blogs and most of all, loves to go on walks with his wife Becky. When Ken is not on the road he frequents his favorite coffeehouse to sip on a cup of caffeine and chat with the locals. Ken resides in Chico California with his wife, three kids, two daughter-in-laws, one son-in-law and a whole mob of five glorious grand-kids. And, by the way each grandchild is his favorite.
This entry was posted in Healing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

