Modern vs. Old Fashion

Picture 33

MODERN VS. OLD FASHION

I was having a discussion with my youngest son Jason and my wife Becky about the move towards digital books. I mentioned hardbound and paperback books as we know them are beginning to decrease. I even suggested that over time they may become a thing of the past (though I wasn’t willing to predict when). I told them they needed to convert to eBooks because this is the wave of the future.

Amazon states eBook sales are up 70% over last year, and with the advent of the Apple’s iPad, the Amazon Kindle, Barnes & Nobles Nook and the list never ends, digital book sales are skyrocketing.

After I touted all the statistics and market shifts, my wife said, “I know all the hype about eBook sales, but there is nothing more relaxing and more cozy than sitting in front of the fire enjoying a hot chocolate with my legs curled up, thumbing through the pages of my paper book. An electronic book simply doesn’t offer the same emotion that my paper book does.”

I had nothing I could say to her comment except, “ I can tell that’s important to you, but to me, it doesn’t matter.”

Interestingly, some 12 months later my wife reads all of her books on her iPad. She confesses finding the convenience worth letting go of the emotions of sifting through the paper of her “old fashioned” books.

SO WHY AM I WRITING THIS?

So why am I writing about modern technology versus the old school approach to reading a book?

I just got back from traveling to South Africa to teach and equip the church in South Africa. This is what I do and I love to do it. As a teacher you need a bible, but this particular trip I left my bible on my desk in my office. As I was boarding the plane, in my mind’s eye I could see it sitting there on my desk.

When I arrived in South Africa and began to teach, I was without my old friend. You see, my old friend (my old fashioned paper bible) has tattered pages, it has parts of pages ripped out and hundreds of underlined verses. As a new believer I can remember making notes in the front cover of my bible to ask Pastor Phil about such topics as “What are tongues?”,  “What is the fruit of the Spirit?”, and of course, “What about the rapture?”

And, of course there are the inevitable highlighter markings in my bible and the small notes scattered within the pages, reminding me of previous thoughts and studies. I have had only one bible since being saved in 1979, my wife had it recovered for me some 20 years ago. That delighted my soul.

As I used my iPhone Bible App while in South Africa, I was struck with how much emotion I had attached to my “old fashioned” bible. Yes, I love the ease of use from my Bible App, but there was something missing.

I am an avid lover of technology and I must confess, I love the simplicity of Bible Apps and I will continue to use my iPhone App for the Bible , but there is nothing quite like my old friend, my old fashioned paper bible.

QUESTION OF THE DAY

I know where things are going technology-wise, but can you relate or are you now fully committed to Bible Apps? Share some of your thoughts; there are no wrong thoughts.

About Ken Winton

Ken Winton is a transparent conversationalist; his inspiring teachings have motivated companies of people around the world into living their lives lighter. Ken is edgy, relatable, some times a goof, but always influential. Ken is an international speaker, author, musician and hosts his own radio show, podcasts and blogs and most of all, loves to go on walks with his wife Becky. When Ken is not on the road he frequents his favorite coffeehouse to sip on a cup of caffeine and chat with the locals. Ken resides in Chico California with his wife, three kids, two daughter-in-laws, one son-in-law and a whole mob of five glorious grand-kids. And, by the way each grandchild is his favorite.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Modern vs. Old Fashion

  1. jennyjos37 says:

    My hubby loves his paperbacks, and I have always wanted an electronic reader. I look at our living room and one entire wall is books. I think how great it would be to have the extra room for furniture. But if the lights go out, and we don’t know what the future holds, with threats of enemies using EMP’s etc…, we would still have our favorite pastime available. Plus, you can’t loan great ministry material to others. I have to agree with Becky, nothing like curling up with a good book!

    • Ken Winton says:

      You bring up excellent points. I guess I don’t suspect that “old fashion” books as we know them are completely going away, but we would have to agree that book sales are up and this because of electronic readers!

      I wrote this blog because every time I speak I now have to say “turn in your bibles” and “turn in your apps” to Romans 12:1-3. I am awaiting someone to create an app that simulates the sound of pages turning!

      Oh well, the good news is, there will always be something to read giving us entertainment, pleasure, study and meditation.

      • jennyjos37 says:

        One of my granddaughters took her electronic something (Ipod I think) to church and my son said to her that she couldn’t take it inside. Her reply was, “But Daddy, I follow along in the Scriptures!” He was quick to apologize and sent her on her way. It’s a different generation and things are going to be different!

  2. Joshua Winton says:

    I, Ken’s middle child, was not there for this conversation. But think it’s interesting that I just bought Frank Viola’s new book today, and I chose the digital version of the book over the paper copy. It saved a dollar, and I get to start reading it instantly. As far as bible apps go, I like the research aspect of the apps (ie. how do other versions translate). But I too am fond of the bible my parents bought me for easter 1989, it’s significant to me that I remember that year/occasion without looking, and the bible I was given as I entered Simpson University in the fall of 1995. So both, that is the answer?

Leave a Reply

