What Should I Do?

Picture 26

Every spring I hear the same thing. Let me tell you about a conversation I had with Curtis.

My phone rings and I hear Curtis say, “Hey Ken, can we get together? I am not sure what I should do and I don’t want to miss the will of God.”

I responded with, “Sure, let’s see, how about 1PM tomorrow at the Naked Lounge (my favorite local coffeehouse)?

Curtis responds with excitement, “That’s perfect, ‘cause I get off work at 12PM, see you then.”

Well, the next day at 1PM we gather at the Naked Lounge. Curtis begins to tell me how in the past he has missed the will of God and doesn’t want to miss it this time.

I asked, “What are you seeking His will on”?

With a perplexed voice Curtis says, “I want to know if I should go away to college, go do a ministry school out of town or should I stay in town and do the internship at The Prayer House.”

“Well, you have quite a few choices to choose from”, I said.

“Yes and that’s part of my problem,” Curtis touted. “If I only had one choice it would be easier.”

Well, after an additional hour of conversation Curtis begins to feel pretty sure as to what God is calling him to do.

Three weeks later Curtis corners me at The Prayer House and says with confidence, “I know what God wants me to do.”

“Really!” I exclaimed”.

“Yes,” Curtis said with excitement. He continued, “I have prayed and He wants me to go away to college. As a matter of fact, I have applied to the University of Nevada at Reno!”

With a thrill in my voice I said, “Wow, that’s exciting Curtis, I’m really glad for you.”

THE BIG DAY

The big day arrives and Curtis heads off to school, excited to start and more importantly he is convinced he is in the center of God’s will.

Four months later the Christmas season is upon us and Curtis comes home from his first semester at college. I just know Curtis is going to want to get together and tell me all about his first semester at UNR. Sure enough, we get together to enjoy a great cup of java and hear of the great things that have happened at school, only to find Curtis in tears and extremely frustrated.

With empathy I asked Curtis, “What’s going on with you? A few months ago you were elated, now you look like an eighteen wheeler just ran you over.”

With tears in his eyes he replied, “I started drinking with some friends and going to parties multiple times per week and because of my drinking, I have flunked out of school. The worst part is, I have missed the will of God. I knew I should have stayed in town and done the internship at The Prayer House. Ken, I am such a mess.”

As I continued to watch Curtis fall apart, I could see the enemy of God standing behind Curtis with his thumbs up saying, “Good, I got him right where I want him!”

The enemy wasn’t ecstatic because Curtis was drinking, although Curtis did repent to God for getting drunk. He was thrilled he had persuaded Curtis into believing the Christian thing to do was to not miss the will of God.  Curtis was so full of shame. Curtis was so focused on accomplishing the will of God; he had completely missed his relationship with God.

When we become consumed with finding the perfect will of God we miss His presence, His peace and His voice. We have over complicated the “will of God”. God is not mysterious in His will. He doesn’t hide His will from us only to pull it away if we get to close to His will.

HIS WILL IS QUITE SIMPLE

Matthew 6:9-10 is an extremely clear definition of His will.

Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name, your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.

As we worship God (hallowed be your name) we ask Him to bring heaven to the earth (your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven). Not just heaven, but the activity of heaven. Roaming throughout heaven are such activities as peace, joy, strength, hope, salvation, miracles, signs and wonders, just to name a few.

God’s will is simple. God has a deep desire for His creation to be back in His arms, just like it was in the beginning of Eden. Our passion is to fulfill His desires by partnering with Him on the earth through intercession first and foremost and ministering His love everywhere we go.

I really believe God is not as concerned where we go to school, work, and minister as much as He wants us to bring to Him, His glory, His power and the activities of heaven where ever we live and where ever we go. He wants to be with you no matter where you are and where you are is where God wants to bring heaven.

Living this way will certainly make “living lighter” a reality.

QUESTION OF THE DAY

Does this story hit home for you, have you been lied to by the enemy of God into thinking you have to figure out the center of God’s will?  If so, tell me about it. And then, tell me about your activities of partnering with God.

About Ken Winton

Ken Winton is a transparent conversationalist; his inspiring teachings have motivated companies of people around the world into living their lives lighter. Ken is edgy, relatable, some times a goof, but always influential. Ken is an international speaker, author, musician and hosts his own radio show, podcasts and blogs and most of all, loves to go on walks with his wife Becky. When Ken is not on the road he frequents his favorite coffeehouse to sip on a cup of caffeine and chat with the locals. Ken resides in Chico California with his wife, three kids, two daughter-in-laws, one son-in-law and a whole mob of five glorious grand-kids. And, by the way each grandchild is his favorite.
This entry was posted in Transforming Truth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

