Spanish Moss

Picture 24

Spanish Moss

While I was born in Georgia, I moved to California when I was four years old. But, I can remember just about every summer as a kid traveling to Georgia to visit family. I have such great memories of playing with all my cousins and especially being with my grandmother who always prayed for my salvation.

I have many more memories of eating grits and eggs, BBQ (Georgia BBQ that is, if you are from there, you know what I mean), fried chicken, black-eyed peas, hot muggy days and picking blackberries upon which my grandmother would make all of us kids blackberry pie. Of course my grandmother made the best blackberry pie in the whole world!

One further memory I have is seeing long mossy plants growing in the midst of trees throughout Georgia. I have come to understand it’s called “Spanish Moss”. At the time, I didn’t know much about Spanish moss except that it grew everywhere in the deep south lingering amongst the trees. Since then I have come to understand something spectacular about Spanish moss.

Something Spectacular

“Spanish Moss” is a distinct species, but it only grows as part of another tree; it cannot exist alone. It derives its life from the life of another. Just like Spanish moss, we cannot exist spiritually unless we are connected to Jesus.

Look at what this verse tells us.

For if we have been “planted together” in the likeness of his death, we shall be also in the likeness of his resurrection.  Knowing this, that our old man is crucified with him, that the body of sin might be destroyed, that henceforth we should not serve sin.  (Romans 6:5-6 KJV)

Because of what Jesus did over two thousand years ago, we are now planted together with Him in His death and in His resurrection. This means we gain all of our spiritual life from Jesus as we stay connected to Him. Without Him we cannot experience spiritual life, without Him we experience spiritual death.

Look at what this verse tells us.

“Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing. (John 15:5 NIV)

We were created to experience our life from Jesus. We have been planted together with Him and just like Spanish moss derives its life from the life of another, we to derive our life from another, Jesus.

Agreeing with and living in this truth will make “living life lighter” today.

Question of the day:

What memories do you have as a kid that God has used to teach you something about the kingdom of God? I would love to hear from you.

 

About Ken Winton

Ken Winton is a transparent conversationalist; his inspiring teachings have motivated companies of people around the world into living their lives lighter. Ken is edgy, relatable, some times a goof, but always influential. Ken is an international speaker, author, musician and hosts his own radio show, podcasts and blogs and most of all, loves to go on walks with his wife Becky. When Ken is not on the road he frequents his favorite coffeehouse to sip on a cup of caffeine and chat with the locals. Ken resides in Chico California with his wife, three kids, two daughter-in-laws, one son-in-law and a whole mob of five glorious grand-kids. And, by the way each grandchild is his favorite.
This entry was posted in Identity in Christ and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

