What does Africa, Central America and South America Have In Common?

Picture 17

What does Africa, Central America & South America have in common?

Coffee, of course!

I like to think of myself as a bit of a coffee connoisseur. Not the breed of coffee connoisseur who understands every nuance coffee can offer, but let’s just say I really love coffee. To show you I am not a coffee expert but simply an appreciator of a great cup of caffeine, allow me to tell on myself.

In the early 1970’s, I remember traveling to Italy and settling into a small but quaint coffeehouse. I had heard of an Italian hot drink by the name of espresso, so I ordered one. When the drink came the waitress placed it on a napkin and I noticed the name of the drink was written on the napkin. It said “Enjoy Your Freshly Made Espresso” I only had one problem, I had always pronounced it “expresso”. After a lesson learned I sipped my first “Espresso” and I must confess I have been hooked ever since.

My Coffee and God Analogy

Before you drop me off the “no more grace for you” cliff, I am sure there is enough grace extended to me while I tell you how God is like a good cup of coffee. I am in no way reducing God to a tasty cup of java. It just dawned on me the other day, “God reminds me of a steaming savory cup of coffee.”

MY FIRST ANALOGY

How glorious it is to celebrate the morning by taking that first careful sip of steaming coffee and to take pleasure in the flavor of the coffee as it wanders over your discriminating taste buds. Then, it softly hits you. This coffee is so good.

This coffee analogy reminds me of:

Taste and see that the LORD is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in him. (Psalms 34:8)

MY SECOND ANALOGY

Some would consider caffeine a drug (a legal drug, but none the less, a drug). Meaning the caffeine is addictive. Many of us would agree that caffeine sends a small but potent jolt to us upon arrival of that first delicate and subtle sip. After a rough night of sleep, or any night of sleep for that matter, the benefits coffee brings me, is unmistakable.

The benefits are long, but primarily coffee relaxes me and prepares me for the day ahead. In my world there is nothing more enjoyable than sitting down early in the morning with a freshly brewed cup of relaxing coffee and soaking in the presence of God. The leisure of the coffee enhances my senses to enjoy God more. I consider coffee a magnificent benefit.

This coffee analogy reminds me of:

Praise the Lord, my soul, and forget not all his benefits, who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from the pit and crowns you with love and compassion, who satisfies your desires with good things so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s. (Psalms 103:2-5)

MY THIRD ANALOGY

The coffee cup warms my hands on a chilly and brisk morning. And the temperature of the coffee as it wanders slowly and aimlessly down my throat not only warms my insides, but it provides warmth to my entire being.  The presence of coffee spreading throughout my entire body brings me delight and joy. I wonder sometimes if coffee enjoys me like God enjoys me? Not really, but just for fun!

“The Lord your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves. He will take great delight in you; in his love he will no longer rebuke you, but will rejoice over you with singing.” (Zephaniah 3:17)

THE BOTTOM LINE

Here is the bottom line for me concerning coffee. God created it to be enjoyed and I sure enjoy it. So, thanks God for providing coffee for me, especially early in the morning when I want it the most. And thanks for meeting with me over my cup of coffee.

Thanks for allowing me to express some of my thoughts, even if they are a little out there. FYI, I am addicted to Jesus not coffee, but I sure benefit from a good cup of coffee!

QUESTION OF THE DAY

What do you think of a savory cup of coffee? Any comments, let me know your thoughts?

About Ken Winton

Ken Winton is a transparent conversationalist; his inspiring teachings have motivated companies of people around the world into living their lives lighter. Ken is edgy, relatable, some times a goof, but always influential. Ken is an international speaker, author, musician and hosts his own radio show, podcasts and blogs and most of all, loves to go on walks with his wife Becky. When Ken is not on the road he frequents his favorite coffeehouse to sip on a cup of caffeine and chat with the locals. Ken resides in Chico California with his wife, three kids, two daughter-in-laws, one son-in-law and a whole mob of five glorious grand-kids. And, by the way each grandchild is his favorite.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What does Africa, Central America and South America Have In Common?

  1. jennyjos37 says:

    I look forward to my wonderful cup every morning!

    • Ken Winton says:

      Well then, enjoy the cup and the cup of His presence!

      • jennyjos37 says:

        Sorry that my response was very brief earlier, had to run errands and was on the move. I want to tell of a blessing from God today while I was having my coffee. I had been in search of writing resources and my hubby walks in with a book “The Prentice Hall Guide for College Writers.” He provides!!! Someone threw it away and it just happened to be in his path!

  2. Ken Winton says:

    Jenny, I am finally enjoying a day off while in New Zealand, so today I will be enjoying some coffee and writing most of the day. Let me know if that is a good guide, maybe I will order it!

Leave a Reply

