To Declare, Decree and Decide

 Picture 58

NOTE: This is the introductory article for a 3-part series on Declare, Decree and Decide.

Psalms 27 is a song of optimistic hope, well designed for those in personal or corporate trials who have learned to lean upon the Almighty arm of God. It would appear evident that by the tone of David’s writings that he was facing massive trials. Whether these trials were from when Doeg, the Edomite, spoke against him to Saul or some other snare? It would appear that David was facing slander from individuals. The Hebrew’s believe that once a word is spoken, it never stops speaking. David was speaking these words not only for you and me down through history, but in particular he was reminding himself of who God was, is and is to come.

There are three words that rise out of Psalms 27:1-4: declare”, “decree” and “decide”. While these three words are not physically evident they are certainly prominent in thought through out Psalms 27:1-4.

Merriam’s Webster Dictionary defines these three words as:

Declare” as a (verb) means: to announce something clearly & loudly or to state something formally or officially.

Decree” as a (noun) means: to release a divine verdict

Decide” as a (verb) means: to arrive at a verdict on the basis of evidence

PSALMS 27:1 to “DECLARE”

(to announce something clearly & loudly or to state something formally or officially.)

“The LORD is my light and my salvation whom shall I fear?”

David was singing his confidence in the lover of His soul. Listen to David’s personal declaration of  “my light” and “my salvation.” Note, it is not said that the Lord gives light, but that he “is” light; nor that he gives salvation, but he is salvation. In other words David is declaring that we have everything in God and it is our possession to declare.

At The Prayer House in Chico, CA, each Friday night we have what we call our Encounter God Service. One evening as we went into a ministry opportunity I was drawn to one person for prayer. As we often do, I asked the individual what was going on so I would have an idea of what to prayer for and what the Holy Spirit was up to. This individual said, “I need God to give me strength and I need Him to give me hope while I am facing this massive trial”. I was immediately drawn to Psalms 27:1. David declared, You are my light and You are my salvation.  David was not asking God to be his light and salvation, but was declaring that You are my light and my salvation. As I began to pray over this individual I first made a declaration. I said, “God you do not give strength You are strength and Father You do not give hope, but You are this persons hope. So Father, bring Yourself to this individual as they move through this season. Thank you that Your Son Jesus is strength and hope”

As I began to pray over this individual they began to weep. As they wept I continued declaring over this person, “You are their strength and You are their hope, keep coming!” As I continued to pray, over time this person turned from weeping to chuckles and then from chuckles to full on laughter. I did not know all that was going on, but I was thrilled to see that God up to something.

Well after a while this individual began to tell me what God was doing in them. They said, “I kept asking God to give me strength and hope but I was not finding strength and hope in the midst of my trial. Then, as you declared that Jesus was my strength and my hope, it hit me that I was looking to strength and hope for my strength and hope. As soon as I began to focus all my attention on Jesus and started declaring that He was my strength and hope, I began to feel lighter in my emotions, I began to discover that through my declaration He was my strength and hope He would lift me up above my enemies. As I did this I began to experience the manifested presence of God on me. My tears of sadness had turned into tears of joy and delight in the strength and hope of my life Jesus Christ the Son of God.”

THE RENEWED MIND FROM DECLARING

The LORD is my light and my salvation whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life of whom shall I be afraid? This is the voice of pure declaration. This was David’s clear and marked demarcation. In other words, once David made this statement, the truth of this statement was released in him.  While the Lord is “light” is a true statement, there is something significant released when you declare this truth. The truth that the Lord is “light” will become more than simply a statement of fact but it will become a reality of truth for you and in you as you declare it over and over again.

I was visiting the International House of Prayer (IHOP/KC) in Kansas City in 2004. As I was in the prayer room, Misty Edwards was leading an intercessory worship set. During a particular chorus that Misty had created she began to sing the same phrasing over and over. The first 10-12 times she sang it I thought to my self “that is a great chorus, I like that”. Well, she continued on the same chorus. She had been singing the chorus about 16-18 times over and over again. My thoughts at this point were “Ok Misty, it is time to move on.  You’rE starting to sound like a broken record and I am sure God has got it by now.”  Well she did not listen to me; she kept singing the same phrasing over and over and over again and again. At about 24-26 times of singing the same chorus over and over again I could feel my frustration starting to mount. As the chorus continued, I was beginning to move from frustration to outright anger. I can vividly remember my thoughts, “Why does she have to keep singing the same phrasing, she sounds like a broken record, surely God most have heard her by now?”

Then, God began to speak to me about what was going on. Clearly God said, “Ken, Misty is not singing the same chorus over and over again so that I will get it, but so you will get it. Look at Misty; she is utterly fascinated with my Son. She understands that all of her life comes from Me and she is voicing that truth. She is declaring to herself this true reality. She wants her mind renewed as to who I am to her. She is My beloved daughter who loves to sing her heart to Me and You are My beloved son who needs your mind renewed as well, so begin to sing to Me. I will never be tired of you singing the same phrasing to Me over and over and over again. Your passion for who I Am, moves My heart.”

From that moment forward, I have never forgot the power behind “declaring” God’s truth even when it is done over and over again. I am reminded that Revelations 4:8 says that the four living creatures are currently soaring around a beautiful God who is seated on a beautiful throne in the heavens never cease saying only one chorus.

Revelation 4:8

Day and night they never stop saying:“Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty, who was, and is, and is to come.”

There is one truth that I have determined, and it is this: “When we are walking in fear it is because we have forgot who He is. He is our light and He is our salvation and when we are living in that truth, there is no fear. So speak out and declare who He is, and your voice will reverberate throughout eternity”.

About Ken Winton

Ken Winton is a transparent conversationalist; his inspiring teachings have motivated companies of people around the world into living their lives lighter. Ken is edgy, relatable, some times a goof, but always influential. Ken is an international speaker, author, musician and hosts his own radio show, podcasts and blogs and most of all, loves to go on walks with his wife Becky. When Ken is not on the road he frequents his favorite coffeehouse to sip on a cup of caffeine and chat with the locals. Ken resides in Chico California with his wife, three kids, two daughter-in-laws, one son-in-law and a whole mob of five glorious grand-kids. And, by the way each grandchild is his favorite.
This entry was posted in Authority in Christ, Declare & Decree, Renew Your Mind and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

